• Welcome to Municipality of Mabini

Call Now(+121) 1800 567 980

Our Location Mabini, Davao De Oro Province

Mabini, officially the Municipality of Mabini (formerly Cuambog and Doña Alicia), is a 2nd class municipality in the province of Davao de OroPhilippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 41,102 people. The municipality is home to the Mabini Protected Landscape and Seascape


The first people to occupy the area now known as Mabini were the Mansakas. The settlement was formerly known as Cuambog, named after a tree species of the family Dilleniaceae.

In 1953, by virtue of Executive Order No. 596 of President Elpidio Quirino, the municipality was created from the eastern part of Tagum and the northern part of Pantukan. Barrio Cuambog became the seat of the municipal government. The municipality was named Doña Alicia after President Quirino’s wife Alicia Syquia, who was killed by Japanese soldiers during the Second World War. In 1954, the municipality was renamed in honor of revolutionary leader Apolinario Mabini.

In 1967, the municipality of Maco was created from the northern barangays of Mabini. Mabini was originally part of Davao province. It became part of Davao del Norte when Davao province was split in 1967. In 1998, Mabini became part of Compostela Valley, a new province which was created from Davao del Norte.


Mabini is politically subdivided into 11 Barangays.  In 1957, the sitios of Panibasan Proper and Andili became barrio Panibasan (Pindasan), the sitios of Cadunan Proper, Anislagan, Malabatuan and Lapinigan became barrio Cadunan, and the sitios of Tangnanan Proper, Mampising and Tagbalabao became barrio Tangnanan